Books after Harry Potter, Twilight, and The Hunger Games.

A friend of mine recently posted a quote by Cornelia Funke, an author whose books I have struggled to get into, that truly expresses the difference between a book and a loved book. Loved books are thick and have bent backs, ripped pages, and tear stains on the chapter where your favourite character dies. No matter how many times I explore the pages of my beloved novels, I’m still shocked every time Fred dies after fighting alongside his friends and family at Hogwarts. I still feel a wave of sadness when I think of the chapters that are labelled with the months that Bella lives without Edward. And when Peeta realizes that Katniss’ love is the truth. All of these moments were so beautifully written that they stick in my mind like a moment of my own past that I have truly experienced. Mark Twain once said that “the difference between the ‘right word’ and the ‘almost right word’ is the difference between lightning and a lightning bug.” What makes a great book? How does an author give life to the words typed out on brown paper?

I’m trying to figure out how another series of books could possibly grab my attention after growing up at the same pace as Harry Potter, and agonizing over the disappearance of Edward with Bella, and reading too much into the Hunger Games by drawing similarities between the Districts of Panem and real life.

Right now I’m reading Shadow of Night, a sequel to A Discovery of Witches, which has only gained about 5% of my attention. I read the first one over the course of a year and the second one has been going for about a month now and I MIGHT be 100 pages into it… To put this in perspective (so you all don’t think I’m just a shitty reader) I finished Twilight, New Moon and Eclipse in 9 days; HP: Deathly Hallows in 3 days; The three Hunger Games books in 6 days; and (guilty pleasure time) Fifty Shades trilogy in just over two weeks. Me = not slow … 90% of books out there = shit.

What separates the shit from the not-so-shit?

hmm.

S

Leave a Reply

