Reading, Running, Swimming, Eating..

…aka – Saturday!

Color Me Rad 2013

What a fantastic day! I woke up at about 8 am and started reading (I’m determined to finish Shadow of Night even though its only JUST getting interesting… hopefully I’ll finish tomorrow or Monday then I can start a brand new book – how exciting). My day carried swiftly on and soon it was time to get ready to go over to Brodie’s and get ready to run in a colorfully rad fashion! If you have never done a color me rad run then you ought to try it! It’s been on my ‘to-do’ list for a while and today it became a reality! WHAT A FANTASTIC DAY! We took the shuttle down to Olympic Park and were welcomed with a cloud of purple dust coming from the color station before the finish line. As we walked through the starting area there was a dance party going on that turned the sparkling-white-outfitted runners into multi-colored, super stoked, full of rad-ness, running machines!!!! By the end of the 5K (which took 40 minutes for me to jog/walk) I was covered in color and felt so good. The three of us rode that high all the way home and then jumped into the lake to get most of the color off.

I would absolutely do that race again. Nobody times you, or judges you. Everyone is there solely to have an amazing time and to feel amazing about yourself by the end. By the end of this year I’d like to have a total of three 5K runs under my belt, each with noticeably faster times.

  • September 15 = Terry Fox Annual Run.
  • September 21 = MRU Color-U-Blue Walk & Run
  • October 23 = Thanksgiving Memory Walk & Run

Not sure how I feel about 2 races being within a week of each other…. does that seem like a good idea? I’m really looking forward to getting healthier before I head back to the UK at Christmas time 🙂

S

Leave a Reply

