Review: The Girl You Left Behind – Jojo Moyes

girlyouleftbehind

Yet again, Jojo Moyes has created a story that will hold a place in my heart forever. I began reading The Girl You Left Behind after spotting it on my local library’s shelf on a whim. Within the first 20 pages I was hooked and couldn’t put this one down.

I connected with all the characters in the story except one. Liv Halston. After falling in love with Sophie, this strong, capable woman, I felt like the shift to present time was so abrupt that there was no chance of me connecting to Liv, a stubborn, mess of a girl. It sounds harsh, but the contrast of these two characters meant that one was going to be preferred over the other. I didn’t understand, and felt frustrated by, Liv’s lack of rationale when it came to the painting. I understood that her late husband had bought it for her, but I couldn’t get past that this painting ultimately didn’t belong to her. Of course, I was overjoyed at the end when everything was resolved – but still, why was she so unlovable?

I always enjoyed the switch of perspectives: From Sophie, to Liv, to Paul – It kept the story fresh and allowed me, as the reader, to see characters more clearly. The relationship described between Sophie and Edouard was magical. A true fairytale romance. I hope my marriage will be 10% as magnificent as theirs was.

I feel like this review was mumbled and I am struggling to find words to express how deeply I love this book. If you have never read a Jojo Moyes book, start with this or Me Before You and just fall in love as I have done.

S

4 thoughts on “Review: The Girl You Left Behind – Jojo Moyes

    1. I think I agree with you! Me Before You was special and I do hold it in a special place… but The Girl You Left Behind just hit all the right chords for me. I’m a sucker for any historical/present-day novel!

      Thanks so much for checking out my review =)

      S

  1. I have Me before you in my to read list after reading your review I will be putting it nearer the top and looking to add this book to my ever growing list! Thanks!

    1. You won’t regret it! Something about her writing just sucks me in every time – Let me know what you think of it when you’re done reading!

Leave a Reply

