Review: City of Bones – Cassandra Clare

I actually had no idea these books were being turned into movies.. I know, I live under a rock. But last Friday I made a quick stop at Chapters and bought a few random books – City of Bones was one of them. Once I had started reading I thought to myself, ‘shit… I’m going to have to go and buy the rest of this series!’ So that’s what I did yesterday. The lady behind the counter was so lovely as she exchanged my already 90% read copy of City of Bones for the box set* which included City of Ashes and City of Glass. I also picked up City of Fallen Angels… YES I’m addicted okay? Don’t judge me. This week is going to be a Mortal Instruments king of week (I might even go see the movie…!)

*Just an FYI – The box set at Chapters is 50% off right now.. it’s $22.00 for the first 3 books! So if you were planning on owning them – go get ’em!

I’m going to structure my reviews better now so they’re easier to understand and therefore easier for me to form intelligent(ish) sentences.

Summary: City of Bones begins by introducing Clary, a normal teenager living in NYC, to the world of shadowhunters. She meets Jace, a tall, beautiful, blonde guy covered in weird shiny tattoos. Immediately she is plunged into the world her mother has tried to keep her away from since she was born. And what of her mother? The woman who raised her vanishes at the hand of Valentine, who Clary learns is an shadow hunter turned evil. Clary teams up with Jace and the others at the Institute to find the hidden Mortal Cup before Valentine does. As Entertainment Weekly says on the cover, “Prepare to be hooked.”

Review: And hooked I was. As soon as I started reading about Clary (okay.. after I got used to all the weird names) I was so curious as to how this would all play out. So much happened in the first two chapters that there was no way I could put it down! While the storyline has similarities to Harry Potter, with its too-powerful, too-evil, overlord in the background and Twilight, with its love triangles, werewolves and vampires, Clare has managed to create a completely new and riveting fantasty/adventure series. I felt the same emotions as Clary all the way through the book. Confused and upset over the disappearance of her mother. Angry at Luke for abandoning her in her time of need. More and more, I fell in love with Jace as the pages went by. HOLY CRAP I was so disappointed when she finds out Jace is her brother.. wtf why! I don’t understand that at all. It ruined everything!!!!

Everything about this story is captivating. From the characters, their relationships with each other, the twists and turns of the plots, the vivid settings of each scene. Clare describes everything so clearly that you can’t help but visualize Hodge’s Greenhouse, or Magnus’ warehouse apartment, or the Hotel Dumort. I’m actually really looking forward to the movie to see how they portray it all and if my mind’s eye matches with the director’s.

Would I recommend? Heeeeelll yes. Its such a great read! I would recommend it to anyone above the age of 10.

Have you read this book too? Did you review it on your blog? Post a link so I can check it out! I want to know what you all thought!!

 

S

15 thoughts on “Review: City of Bones – Cassandra Clare

    1. UGH I know right?!?! I like that they opened it up for the sequel thought – can’t wait to see it!

      How did you find the movie in general? I really enjoyed it, and the characters were portrayed really well I thought!

  1. I’m only about halfway through (it’s surprisingly difficult to focus on a book when you have a migraine) but I felt the need to share this … I love Magnus Bane. I think he’s my favorite character so far. And I’m definitely feeling the love for Jace more than Simon at this point … Simon just drank the blue stuff and turned into a rat … (which, incidentally, would be a justified reason for not liking cats if he had been a rat BEFORE he said he didn’t like cats :P)

    1. Oh no! Migraines are the absolute worst!!!! My friend, Lauren, deals with them all the time – its sad to see.

      I completely agree with you, Magnus Bane = amazing. I saw the movie today and the way he’s portrayed makes me unhappy! I’ll stick with the version I have in my head.

      Who doesn’t love cats? Honestly…

      1. Yes, they suck. Much general suckiness. Normally I catch them at the beginning and they don’t get too bad, but I was rather unprepared for this one :/ Spent more time with audiobooks than actual books because then I don’t have to use my eyes …

        And I’m disappointed that you don’t like how he’s portrayed in the movie. Then again … if that’s the only thing disappointing then I guess it’s not a bad adaptation. Is WAS the only thing disappointing, wasn’t it? 😉

  2. Yes I went last Friday, the film is awesome tho it dose differ from the book slightly and as I had only read the first book before seeing the film it did contain some spoilers!
    haha they is nothing wrong with that! think I’m going to be seeing it again by myself on Sunday. xx

    1. I’ve been wondering about whether the movie covered more than just the first book. I’ve also been debating about whether I’m going to go see if after I finish reading City of Bones… the last time I saw a movie right after reading the book was Eragon, and that was just a disaster …

      1. I decided to go to the movie by myself and I’m going to write a review on it as soon as I get home tonight =]

        All I can say right now is that I really hope they do a sequel – I have to see Jace, Clary, Simon and Luke continue to get to know each other. Have. To.

  3. I’m reading this now — I swear it’s been on my to-read shelf for forever, probably since it first came out, but life was in the way of almost all of my reading for a while. I picked this one back up a couple of days ago and I can’t believe I waited so long! My own review will probably be up in a couple of days. Great post!

    1. I’m so happy you’re reading! Now we can chat about it – let me know when you’re finished and I’ll make sure to stop by your blog and check out your review!

      Ps – Jace or Simon?? I’m still torn and I’m halfway through the third book!

      1. I’ll send you a link when it’s up 🙂 Currently I’m pretty torn, but I’m leaning toward Jace (which, honestly, is mostly because Simon said he doesn’t like cats >.<). I am sure I will go back and forth on these two many, many times …

      2. Please do!! Jace is definitely my top choice too! How can you not love a blonde, bronzed, muscular …17 year old? hmm.. weird! Except in my head he’s my age!

    1. I haven’t yet – Have you? I might go and see it one afternoon by myself… is that sad? haha

      I really love your blog – and you’ll really love these books. I’ve read the first two in 3 days…!

Leave a comment