Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly discussion hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week the theme is top ten most memorable secondary characters – wow! What a topic. This one had me stumped for a while but I eventually

1. Haymitch from The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
At first, I hated Haymitch.. quite literally. I thought he was an arrogant and unnecessary character. Eventually, he grew on me and by the end of the series he was was of my favourite characters in the story. (Maybe even possibly over Katniss…woops!) When the movie was announced he was one of the first character I was curious about and I was definitely NOT disappointed.

2. Jasper from The Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer
When Jasper explains to Bella what his life was like before he became a vampire I just remember melting. This well-mannered, southern accented, confederate soldier on horse back? Oh my! Insta-jealous of Alice and her wonderful husband.

3. Minny from The Help by Kathryn StockettI’m not sure if she would even count as a secondary character, more of a primary, but I had to include her. Minny Jackson is hilarious – her mouth consistently gets her in trouble. In the novel, she is everything she shouldn’t be: A loud-mouthed, stubborn, angry, black, housemaid. Reading about her home life made me want to run and hug her, but her antics at work just made me laugh. I wish I had half of her attitude.

4. Professor Sybill Trelawny from Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling
Although this character has shown up in previous HP books, I’m going to allocate this one as the one in which I started to love, and connect to, her. When Dolores Umbridge (read: bitch) fires Trelawny my heart dropped. I hadn’t realized but this character had been built up to be super lovable! It made me sad to think she was not going to be involved in Harry’s school year anymore.

5. Bailey Graffman from Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants by Ann Brashares
The bond that Brashares created between Tibby and Bailey was unbelievable. When this little girl suddenly left I cried and cried and cried. UGH. Heartbreaking. What an adorable, annoying little sister-type-girl. Can’t say much more other than LOVE!

6. Mo from The Girl You Left Behind by Jojo Moyes
Even though I just finished this story I have to mention Mo. She is sassy, and loud, and boisterous, and confident. Exactly what Liv needs to waken her from her bland, non-existing existence! I really like how Moyes created this black and white contrast between the two characters. Without her, Liv’s section of the book would’ve sucked.

7. Eileen from The Josie Smith Books by Magdalen Nabb
If you have a little girl, or are going to have a little girl, or know a little girl that has never had the opportunity to read these books PLEASE give them this gift! These books are my entire childhood – I read them from such a young age and, as I just discussed with my friend, I clicked with Eileen so much. Eileen is Josie’s best friend who always has the prettiest ribbon in her hair, and who is never dirty, and who never gets in trouble. As you can imagine, Josie is the complete opposite. I loved the way these two contrasted each other and, looking back, I realize that my friendship with my best friend, paralleled theirs.

8. Doctor Dillamond from Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West by Gregory MaguireFrom the first time he is introduced, Dillamond is extremely lovable. He reminds me of a philosophy professor I had in my first year of university. An intelligent, but nervous, man who is almost too consumed in his thoughts of the world to remember your name. As an Animal his fate is very sad and soon the super charming and friendly goat leaves behind a classroom full of students that are forever changed.

I feel so bad that I can’t come up with 10 – but I’ve been working on this post all weekend I really don’t think it’s going to happen. This week’s TTT is  tough! Can’t wait to read what everyone else came up with 🙂

S

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Great choices! Haymitch definitely is one that grows on your as the series goes along. I love watching him in the movies as well. And I love that you chose Trelawney. There’s so many great characters in HP that I sometimes forget about some, like her. (Of course, I have no problem remembering that bitch Umbridge!!)

    1. Oh Dolores.. she holds a special place in my heart for being the first character to produce a real hatred from me.. So glad you stopped by 🙂

  2. Jasper was always my favourite Cullen too! Yes to Mo too – that book was such a surprise for me because I couldn’t get into Me Before You but couldn’t get enough of The Girl You Left Behind.

    1. I think I loved Me Before You a little less than The Girl You Left Behind… something about historical crossovers just get to me!
      Thanks for stopping by

      S

Leave a Reply

