A to Z Bookish Survey

AtoZsurvey-1017x1024

After seeing this survey pop up on many of my favourite blogs (Liza, Lauren, and, from the survey creator herself, Jamie) I decided to give it a try.

Author you’ve read the most books from:

Jacqueline Wilson: My entire childhood was shaped by her books. I just finished going through Goodreads checking them all off as ‘read’ its surprising how many I remember and want to re-read.

Best Sequel Ever: 

Son of a Witch by Gregory Maguire. Even though it took me a long time to get into this book, I believe it is one of the most well thought out books ever written.

Currently Reading:

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

Drink of Choice While Reading:

Oh I’m a plain Jane. Usually water as I’m trying to not drink my limited calories away!

E-reader or Physical Book?

I still have yet to finish a book on an e-reader. Its just such a struggle considering I bought the kobo before it came with a back light…

20130828-152732.jpg  Yes, I rented the Inheritance trilogy with the hope that I would finish it on my kobo, and yes. That is a book light clipped to the top of my beloved little e-reader.

 Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

I would have had mad crush vibes for Edward Cullen. I know what you’re thinking.. but I honestly fell in love when I read those books. I was happy when he was around and miserable when he left. Plus he’s super sexy and a vampire (I’m not a fan of Robert Pattinson and I imagine Edward completely different in my head – but isn’t that always the case?)

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

City of Bones – I wasn’t really sure what to expect when I bought this last week, but my goodness I’m glad I invested. It’s such a great beginning to a riveting series. As you can see from the last few updates to my page I’m steam-rolling through these books.

Hidden Gem Book:

Me Before You – Jojo Moyes created a novel that captured my heart and ultimately brought me to tears. I’ve never been so moved by words on a page. Read my review here.

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

When I was introduced to the world of book blogging by my friend, Lauren. Her blog has inspired me to create something that I’m proud of and I wake up every morning looking forward to blogging.

Just Finished:

City of Ashes: Book two of The Mortal Instruments.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

I’m not really closed to any specific genre as my opinion on books is similar to that of music. Good books come in many styles and genres. Sometimes one author can create a few spectacular books amidst a sea of crap… I won’t name names.. you know who you are.

big books

Longest Book You’ve Read:

Under the Dome by Stephen King. Although, from memory, I would’ve said it was A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry – I remember it taking a long time to read!

20130808-141626.jpg

Major book hangover because of:

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. This book..

Number of Bookcases You Own:

3! Two in my room and one in the living room filled with mine and my parents books 🙂

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

1984 by George Orwell. Beautifully tragic. This novel was one of the first books I remember getting into debates with my Dad over!

Preferred Place To Read:

In bed or on the couch in the non-tv living room!

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

From The Hunger Games:
” ‘Why did she want a coal miner if she could’ve had you?’ And he said, ‘Because when he sings…even the birds stop to listen.’ ” – Peeta explaining to Katniss when he first fell in love with her.

Reading Regret:

Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling.. just so bad. Does anyone have a review of them liking it?!

Series You Started And Need To Finish(all books are out in series):

MORTAL INSTRUMENTS! As previously stated, I am halfway through the third book and I started on three days ago. My review of City of Bones can be found here!

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, 1984, Me Before You.

Unapologetic Fangirl For:

Loving everything to do with Twilight. I’d still love to visit Forks and re-read the first book on a little bay window bench whilst it rains outside. *dreams*

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

Doctor Sleep by Stephen King. This is the long-awaited sequel to The Shining and I’m really excited.

Worst Bookish Habit:

I tend to leave books lying around, so they get dirty, bent, and ripped – but that’s what makes my book collection unique I suppose!

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

greeneggsham

My extremely bright copy of Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Suess!

Your latest book purchase:

It was a bulk buy!  1- Box set of City of Bones, Ashes & Glass; 2 – City of Fallen Angels; 3 – Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close; 4 – Eragon.

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

City of Ashes – I decided to read it from about 10am until about 4am… *yawn* So worth it.

*phew* This was fun, but a lot of work! Not only did it force me to put my thinking cap on, but I had to finally add all the books I’ve read to my goodreads account – oh boy!
S
5 thoughts on “A to Z Bookish Survey

  1. I had the same experience as Liza, regarding Forks and Twilight. I didn’t stop in Forks, but I was a few miles south, and we stopped at a tiny store. There was a whole section (about 1/4 of the store) dedicated to Twilight. I think there was even Twilight perfume… something about smelling like what Cullen prefers? It was pretty hilarious, but nevertheless very fun!

    1. I honestly wish they hadn’t gone down the tourist route! Wouldn’t it be cool to experience Forks (which I think was actually filmed mostly in BC) the way Bella and Edward did?

      ….about that perfume… 😉

  2. (PS – I drove through Forks this summer on my way to one of the rainforests in the area … It was … almost scary, simply because the only things there were Twilight-related. Seriously, the only motel in the area even had a sign that said “Edward Cullen did not stay here,” which, admittedly, was kinda hilarious)

  3. Loved this post! I’ve added Me Before You to my to-read list 🙂 Thanks for the link! (And now I REALLY want to get caught up with the Mortal Instruments series)

Leave a Reply

