City of Bones: Movie Review

Yesterday marked a solid milestone in my life. I went to the movies alone.

It was actually quite refreshing to go, buy my ticket and a small popcorn, and sit in the theater and enjoy the previews by myself. I thought I’d be nervous, or feel weird, and had already planned my exit route when I realized I was relaxed and happy to be there on my own. I have to review the movie because, of course, it differs from the book and I’m not sure I’m okay with that!

The Review

From start to finish, this movie felt like a rush. There was no in between moments or ‘down time’ between any of the best action. It made me sad that they didn’t just drag it out a bit more and make it a three-hour feature. Instead they crammed it all into two. Whilst being super exciting, I feel like too much information was given to the viewer and I’m not sure how they’re going to do a sequel that isn’t completely boring or predictable!

I’ve read a few other reviews and they all have the same kind of idea regarding choice of actors. Jamie Campbell Bower plays Jace flawlessly. He’s got that sexy, dangerous, killer vibe and a smile that takes your breath away. Also the hair… Oh the hair. Lily Collins sort of fades into the background as Clary. Her hair isn’t as red as it should be and she’s not as exciting as she could be (although thinking back Film Set: "The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones"to the book, I was only ever interested in Clary when she was with Jace or Simon or Valentine – I find it hard to connect to women in books, and life, but that’s another story for another day). The costumes for the characters were awesome! I love the edgy goth look. The boots.. When I was younger I always wanted a pair of boots like this! Going back to great choices of actors – Kevin Zegers. From The Jane Austen Book Club to Gossip Girl, I have loved this Ontario-born actor since the first time I saw his beautifully chiseled face. Ugh. The smoulder.. just look at it. He did an amazing job playing Alec.

I think all the actors chosen were amazing except for two. (uh-oh here comes some negative action). Magnus Bane and Valentine.

Dear Magnus Bane, I hope you grow on me – nothing against Godfrey Gao, as he is pretty fantastic acting wise, but compared to my imagination? The movie portrayal is way off. I do want to say that I find Gao extremely attractive and, like all the actors/actresses in this movie, he plays his part perfectly.

Valentine is a similar story. He looks nothing like he should. In the books, Valentine is described as a big, strong man with broad shoulders. Jonathan Rhys Meyers, although  extremely attractive, was a little too scrawny and a little too young to play the charming, evil shadowhunter-gone-rogue. He adds to the list of beautiful people in the movie and, while this is the negative part of the review, I’m okay with it.

Would I recommend? Yes, absolutely I would. I really like being able to see a book come to life. It makes me happy to know that people were passionate enough about the books to try and expand its audience by making a movie. I’m looking forward to the sequel and now that I’ve finished the third book (review to come soon), I’m looking forward to reading the last two books and finishing off the series.

My review of City of Bones.

What are your thoughts? Did you see the movie and hate it? Did I forget to mention something super important and you’re wondering if I noticed? Let me know!

S

Sidenote: I will be posting reviews for the other books, but, because I’m reading them so quickly, I’m trying to decide whether to combine the 2nd and 3rd book in one review or not. I’ll decide this weekend 🙂

8 thoughts on “City of Bones: Movie Review

  1. So I just finished the movie. I’m not sure how I felt about it … I wasn’t a fan of the screenplay, to be honest. And you were totally right about Magnus Bane—I REALLY didn’t like his portrayal in the movie … (And I think there were maybe 4 other people in the 12:30 showing here—one of them giggled almost every time Jace’s line was a quote from the book)

    1. Right?! I hope he grows on me though… He’s become one of my all-time-favourite characters. I wish they had just stretched it out, it all seemed very rushed and I have the feeling that if I hadn’t read the book first I would’ve never kept up.
      (lol, I’m definitely going to attend more mid-afternoon showings, they’re the best!)

  2. I’m going to the theaters with some friends next week to watch City of Bones so I thought what better time to start the series? Just finished the books yesterday and OH MY GOD THIS BOOK. I have so many conflicted thoughts over this one– the first 300 pages or so was FANTABULOUS then the ending. THE ENDING!!! I still can’t wrap my mind around that revelation :O

    There’s been lots of different opinions about the movie so hopefully I’ll enjoy this one! The costumes are better than what I’ve imagined 🙂

    Alicia @ Summer Next Top Story

    1. I’m so glad I have someone to gush over these books with now – they’re so addictive. I’m just about the start City of Fallen Angels… I’m worried Jace and Clary will be split again thought!!
      The costumes! I wish I could’ve dedicated my entire review to the specific costumes that each character wore in each scene.

      I think ‘FANTABULOUS’ is the best word to describe the movie.
      Thank you so much for reading my review! I’m about to majorly creep your blog 🙂

      S

  3. So I have one question now … would it be ok to go see it without having read any of the later books yet? I was thinking about going this afternoon after I wrap up my read and review (I had, like, 70 pages left when I passed out last night) but I don’t want to get bad spoilers for the next book(s) …

  4. I’m glad to hear you liked the dude who played Alec (I forgot his name), because he’s the one I’m most hesitant about! I always pictured Alec as leaner and a bit younger. But Campbell was perfect for Jace!

    Oh and going to movies alone is the best thing ever 🙂 I’ll be seeing The Fault in Our Stars alone so that no one can make fun of me while I cry my eyes out

    1. Yes! Zegers is amazing as Alec. I think he’s probably the best fit for his part out of all the characters, except maybe Jace. Campbell is perfect – I agree!

      It was definitely something I’d repeat.. There were only 8 people in the theater with me.

      I had no idea they were making that into a movie!!! Now I really have to read it!

Leave a Reply

