School :D

You probably can’t tell but I am so excited that classes start today (for me on the 9th). I’m going down to campus just to see familiar faces, and walk amongst the buzz of students. There’s nothing quite like the first day of school. I wish I had this passion for academia back in Jr. High or High School, but I suppose there are some things you grow into.

You may have noticed I have been struggling to get through the fourth book of The Mortal Instrument series. I’ve been busier than ever for two weeks now and I just haven’t felt like reading this one. I don’t have the burning desire, to pick it up and finish it, like I had with the first one. I’ve been telling myself to just get on and finish it, but then last night I reviewed the course outline for one of my English classes – American Literature from 1945 – Present. On the reading list? In Cold Blood by Truman Capote, Sula by Toni Morrison, and The Road by Cormac McCarthy. Have you read any of these books? Did you enjoy them? I’ve got to go and purchase Capote’s book because the course outline menacingly says ‘read prologue thoroughly before Monday’s class – if you do not read it, do not come.’ I’m going to love this prof…

It’s sad that my YA books must take the shelf for a few months, but I’m so excited to open my mind as a reader. I think it will be good for me to discuss the books I’m reading in school on this blog. I’ll probably get more discussion out of you wonderful people than the dunces in my class. Hm…too negative too soon?

 

S

Leave a Reply

